Friday, March 9, 2012

New Bobby Womack album due June 12

Some 14 years since Bobby Womack's previous studio album – and decades since his last great one – Sam Cooke's sideman and Jim Ford's runaround pal is poised for another comeback with the June 12 release of The Bravest Man In The Universe on XL Recordings via Beggars Group Canada.

Recorded with his Gorillaz mate Damon Albarn and XL's hands-on label boss Richard Russell (Gil-Scott Heron, Major Lazer, Roots Manuva) between October and December 2011 at Albarn's Studio 13 in West London and New York's Manhattan Center, the 10-track set boasting all-new material (!) promises a refreshing forward-looking approach for Womack who has wasted far too much time dwelling on past glories.

While longtime fans probably wouldn't be disappointed with Womack making yet another attempt at revisiting his creative peak period of the late 60s and 70s, it's welcome news that Bobby's moving on as can be heard from the lead off track Please Forgive My Heart (download it for free right here). The beats are contemporary but the soul is strictly old school.

The Bravest Man In The Universe (XL Recordings)
1. The Bravest Man In The Universe
2. Please Forgive My Heart
3. Deep River
4. Dayglo Reflection
5. Sweet Baby Mine
6. Stupid
7. If There Wasn't Something There
8. Love Is Gonna Lift You Up
9. Nothin' Can Save Ya
10. Jubilee

No comments:

Post a Comment