Friday, February 10, 2017

The Dirty Nil cash-in on Juno nod with early singles comp Minimum R&B

Just days after a surprising JUNO nomination, Steeltown rock 'n' roll trio The Dirty Nil have announced the release of a retrospective collection out April 28th on Dine Alone in conjunction with Fat Wreck Chords. To bring new fans up to speed, the aptly named Minimum R&B serves as a best-of compilation, bringing together some previously issued tracks from the group's first three 7” singles and four of the five tunes from 2014's Smite 10" EP.  Sorry, "Wrestle Yu To Husker Du" is not included.

On the compilation’s inspiration, the band says it was “fuelled by broken vintage fuzz pedals, the show television "destroyed in seconds", girls night out wine, smashing reverb tanks with hammers, a small lake of black coffee, horrible recording conditions, general negligence, recording vocals naked, beer, blood, broken bones, broken instruments, broken ears, inescapable loudness, screaming, unresolved girl problems, exposed wiring, no pants, no shoes, making our producers drink more than they wanted to, and a dozen donuts.” Yep, they're from the Hammer.

Although the press release claims that the set includes "one previously unissued track," longtime Dirty Nil fans will recall the tune "Caroline" from 2009's Saccharine Visceral 5-song CD EP. Of course, this could be an alternate version but the tune should be familiar to the group's hardcore following. Conspicuously absent from the set are all the group's popular covers from the Summer Mix-Tape Vol. 2  cassette and their five lathe-cut fan club singles. Who knows, maybe those marketing saavy Dine Alone folks have a Dirty Nil covers LP planned for Record Store Day. If not, they'd better get crackin' since it's coming up fast on April 15.

Latecomers to the Dirty Nil party will be delighted to discover that many of their self-released recordings which make up Minimum R&B are just as good, if not superior to those on last year's full-length debut Higher Power that took four people to produce. Since its release, the band has toured alongside groups like FLAG (the Keith Morris-led touring version of Black Flag) and Alexisonfire on their way to a well-deserved nomination for "Breakthrough Group Of The Year" at the upcoming 2017 JUNO Awards. This month The Dirty Nil continue their winning strategy of playing support to big drawing but less-interesting acts by joining Billy Talent and Monster Truck on a cross-Canada tour. A full list of dates follow below. Check out the Fuckin' Up Young video.

Minimum R&B track listing
1. Fuckin' Up Young
2. Verona Lung
3. Little Metal Baby Fist
4. Hate Is A Stone
5. Cinnamon
6. Guided By Vices
7. Nicotine
8. Beat
9. New Flesh
10. Pale Blue
11. Caroline

The Dirty Nil on tour with Billy Talent and Monster Truck
02/16 Abbotsford, BC – Abbotsford Centre
02/18 Calgary, AB – Grey Eagle Event Centre
02/21 Edmonton, AB – Shaw Conference Centre
02/22 Regina, SK – Brandt Centre
02/23 Winnipeg, MB – MTS Centre
02/26 London, ON – Budweiser Gardens
02/27 Toronto, ON – Air Canada Centre
03/01 Montreal, QC – Bell Centre
03/02 Quebec City, QC – Centre VidĂ©otron
03/03 Ottawa, ON – The Arena at TD Place
03/05 Moncton, NB – Casino New Brunswick
03/06 Halifax, NS – Scotiabank Centre

No comments:

Post a Comment