Sunday, April 24, 2016

Matthew Halsall's spiritual jazz gem gets overdue vinyl release in May

Being a DJ himself, you'd think that Matthew Halsall would've had his On The Go album on wax much quicker. 
It's been a long wait but UK rising star jazz trumpeter Matthew Halsall's fantastic On The Go album from 2011 is finally being issued on vinyl as a limited double-LP edition on May 20.

Hailed as the "Best Jazz Album of the Year" at the 2012 Worldwide Awards, Halsall's third set on Gondwana label – featuring the stellar line-up of saxophonist Nat Birchall, pianist Adam Fairhall, bassist Gavin Barras and drummer Gaz Hughes with Rachael Gladwin on harp – has been specially remixed and remastered by Matt with George Atkins at 80 Hertz boasting three previously unissued bonus tracks.

Hopefully Matthew will have the good sense to re-press that Alice Coltrane tribute 12" he recorded with his Gondwana Orchestra (featuring the aforementioned harpist Rachel Gladwin) at the BBC's Maida Vale Studio released in a tiny edition last year. You can pre-order On The Go (Special Edition) right here.

Matthew Halsall - On The Go
1. Music For A Dancing Mind
2. Song For Charlie
3. The End Of Dukkha
4. Samatha
5. The Journey Home
6. The Move
7. Only You*
8. Singing Everyday*
9. Breathless* 
*bonus track

No comments:

Post a Comment